Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is ultimately accountable for the performance of each of our academies and E-ACT as a whole.

The Board is comprised of six non-executive trustees and one ex officio trustee. The non-executive trustees are all volunteers who are recruited for their leadership experience within a range of sectors in order to ensure a diverse and balanced skillset on the Board. The ex officio trustee is the Chief Executive.

The profiles of all our trustees, along with their date of appointment declared business interests and attendance record can be found here.

The Board meets five times a year.

There are three sub-committees of the Board, each with delegated authorities in specific areas of the business:


Finance Committeethe overall purpose of the Finance Committee is to support the Board in ensuring the maintenance of systems of financial management and control to assure financial probity and transparency, and effective financial stewardship and management of the organisation.

The Chair of the Finance Committee is Theresa Keating.

Audit and Risk Committeethe overall purpose of the Audit and Risk Committee is to ensure the quality and integrity of the company’s accounting and reporting practices, controls and financial statements; legal and regulatory compliance; the auditor’s qualifications and independence; and the performance of the company’s internal audit function and independent auditors.

The Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee is Sean Alleyne.

Education and Personnel Committeethe overall purpose of the Education and Personnel Committee is to provide strategic, direction, scrutiny, challenge and support for the academic and personnel aspects of the trust’s organisational strategy.

The Chair of the Education and Personnel Committee is Stephen Hopkins.